Skip to content

Tha mi

June 7, 2010

Tha mi     (pronunciation: ha me)    I am

In Gaelic, the verb comes first.  Therefore, tha is am, and mi is I.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine Monteith permalink
    April 3, 2011 12:50 am

    I love Scottish and Irish history. Have wanted to learn Gaelic for a long time. At one time our Island was seventy-five percent Scottish speaking Gaelic. Would like to join the word a day program.
    thanks for having this site.
    Elaine

    • April 4, 2011 2:25 pm

      Hello, Elaine, and welcome! It’s a pleasure to have you.

    • April 4, 2011 2:46 pm

      I also wanted to add, if you’d like to sign up, there’s a link at the top of the right side bar under e-mail subscriptions that says sign me up, and you should get the posts right in your e-mail. Or if you have a wordpress site, when you’re signed in, you’ll see ‘subscribe’ at the top of the page, and you can subscribe via your wordpress site.

  2. Sarah permalink
    April 21, 2011 7:02 pm

    Hi there! I just want to say thank you so much for having thee little lessons. I just recently stumbled across your site and fell in love with it. I love Scottish Gaelic so much and printed out your posts so I can practise writing and speaking wherever. Thanks again!

  3. Pandora Denny permalink
    March 22, 2012 12:49 am

    I have wanted to learn Gaelic (Scottish Gaelic) ever since reading Diana Gabaldon’s books. I found the Blue Bells of Scotland series on my kindle and couldn’t put it down! I am so pleased to find this website and can start to learn Gaelic, my only problem is that I have never heard it spoken. Any advice?

    • July 25, 2012 4:16 am

      hi, Pandora,

      I’m sorry for the long delay in answering. I’m afraid life took an extremely hectic turn. I listen to Gaelic spoken here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/alba/foghlam/learngaelic/anlitirbheag/ and also on various clips on youtube. Also, as you go through the pages on this site, there are clips of lessons in Scottish Gaelic in which you can hear the language spoken.

      • Pandora Denny permalink
        July 31, 2012 3:42 pm

        Thank you so much. This is a labor of love for me. I have enjoyed learning as much as I can about my heritage including the language.

      • July 31, 2012 7:23 pm

        You’re welcome! I love studying Gaelic, although I have no Scottish blood at all, as far as I know!

  4. January 26, 2013 2:58 pm

    Ciamar a tha sibh? looking forward to joining the fun.
    Tormod

Trackbacks

  1. I am going…. « Scottish Gaelic
  2. Pleased to Meet You! « Scottish Gaelic

Leave a Reply

