Skip to content

I see…

June 10, 2010

Reviewing, with a new word.  Tha mi a’ faicinn… (ha me a fie-kinn)  I see.  Literally, I am seeing.  Not that yesterday’s ag in ag iarraidh and today’s a’ in a’ faicinn are essentially the same word.  Ag is used with verbs beginning with a vowel; a’ is used with consonants.

  • Tha mi a’ faicinn caise dearg.  I see red cheese.
  • Tha thu a’ faicinn brot teth.  You see hot soup.
  • Tha sinn a’ faicinn aran donn.  We see brown bread.
  • Tha i a’ faicinn iasg blasta.  She sees tasty fish.
  • Tha e a’ faicinn ubhal bheag.  He sees a small apple.

Or:

  • Tha sinn a’ faicinn aran teth.  We see hot bread.
  • Tha e a’ faicinn ubhal dhearg.  He see a red apple.
  • Tha i a’ faicinn brot blasta.  She sees tasty soup.
  • Tha thu a’ faicinn iasg beag.  You see a small fish.
  • Tha mi a’ faicinn caise donn.  I see brown cheese. 

How about:

  • Tha e a’ faicinn ubhal bhlasta.  He sees a tasty apple.
  • Tha mi a’ faicinn iasg teth.  I see hot fish.
  • Tha sinn a’ faicinn brot  dearg.   We see red soup.
  • Tha thu a’ faicinn caise beag.  I see a little cheese.
Leave a Reply

