Skip to content

I have…

January 25, 2011

Tha cat agam.  (Ha caht AHkum.)  A cat is at me.  Or, as we would say in English, “I have a cat.” 

Agam is one of the many amalgamated prepositional pronouns found in Scottish Gaelic.  Try breaking the ice with that information at your next party!  You’ll be a hit, I promise!

The amalgamated pronouns combine pronouns with prepositions.  In this case, aig + mi = agam.

Try this with nouns from the previous lessons:

  • Tha caise agam.  I have cheese.
  • Tha càr agam.  I have a car.
  • Tha iasg agam.  I have fish.
  • Tha brot agam.  I have soup.
  • Tha ubhal agam.  I have an apple.
  • Tha aran agam.  I have bread.
  • Tha ugh agam.  I have an egg.
  • Tha taigh-osda agam.  I have a hotel.  (Hey, in case the Hilton’s are learning Gaelic, they’ll need that sentence.)
  • Tha talla agam.  I have a hall.
  • Tha taigh-bidh agam.  I have a restaurant.
  • Tha taigh-solais agam.  I have a lighthouse.
  • Tha cat agam.   I have a cat.
  • Tha tunnag agam.    I have a duck.
  • Tha cù agam.   I have a dog.
  • Tha bò agam.  I have a cow.
  • Tha eun agam.  I have a bird.

 Tomorrow, other amalgamated pronouns, so you can say what he, she, and it have.  Same ialtag time, same ialtag channel!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Renea permalink
    January 25, 2011 2:27 pm

    Tha cofaidh agam agus tha mi toilichte

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    • January 26, 2011 3:21 pm

      Mi cuideachd. Tha ti agam cuideachd.

      • Renea permalink
        January 26, 2011 4:02 pm

        Ah! Glè mhath. …….. Mi rinn poit mor ti,uainne, deanntag, sùbh-craoibh, ginko cuideachd………yum!

        Did I butcher that terribly?

Leave a Reply

