Skip to content

Leniting F with Anns an

February 24, 2011

 

Lenite Fs with the ANNS AN construction:

  • Tha sinn a’ cadail anns an fheur.  (Ha sheen uh-CAH-duh auns ahn oor.) We are sleeping in the grass.
  • Tha sinn a’ ruith anns an fhuachd. (Ha sheen uh-ROO-ee auns ahn oo-uchd.)  We are running in the cold.

Use previously learned verbs and pronouns with today’s and yesterday’s new words.

And here’s another Can Seo, episode 9 part 1:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 21, 2011 7:45 pm

    I’ve got a question about “sinn”. Sometimes I’ll see it as “sinne” and other times as “sinn”. Is there a reason for this…? A spelling preference perhaps? Tapadh leat!

  2. Sarah permalink
    April 21, 2011 9:04 pm

    Oops, I actually didn’t mean “sinn”/”sinne”; I meant I’ve seen both “againn” and “againne”. 🙂

    • April 22, 2011 4:09 am

      Gaelic has a form of amalgamated pronouns called emphatic. Where English would use italics or emphasize the word in speech, Gaelic uses the emphatic form.

      So…againn = aig + sinn, at us, and againne is the emphatic form of at us.

      • April 22, 2011 2:57 pm

        I should probably add: amalgamated pronouns are pronouns joined with a preposition. Aig+thu (at+you) becomes agam, for example.

        The lessons on amalgamated pronouns start here. However, I have only just started on them. There are many, and each has its emphatic form.

      • Sarah permalink
        September 25, 2012 9:24 pm

        Oh wow, it’s been so long. I didn’t realise you had responded to me (I thought I’d get an email or something..). Anyway, thank you so much for clearing up my confusion! I think that’s a pretty neat way to add emphasis and I can’t wait to learn more about it later on (though I’m sure that won’t be a priority any time soon) Thanks for the mini lessons! =)

Leave a Reply

