Skip to content

A Week Off

April 11, 2011

It’s official!  Due to a large number of commitments at home, I will be taking this week off posting, but this is always a good chance to review, especially with over 50 posts now.  See you next Monday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Renea permalink
    April 11, 2011 2:41 pm

    I have a question for you….when you get time to answer.

    The word for woman/wife is bean. When lenited it is bhean.
    Does that sound like ven or hen?
    Do you suppose calling women “hen ” in Scotland has come from that?

  2. April 11, 2011 3:44 pm

    The BH sounds like V. I don’t know where that hen came from!

  3. Renea permalink
    April 11, 2011 4:10 pm

    hhmph.
    It seems a common endearment over there , especially from the older crowd.
    Interesting to try and see how many “Scots’ words come from Gaelic rather than English.

    have a great week!

  4. Gayle Weatherson (Eilidh) permalink
    April 13, 2011 4:05 am

    Hi Laura, I was just checking old posts I made quite some time ago and discovered a comment from you that I completely missed, so I just wanted to thank you. I’m still not very blog-savvy and I thought I should acknowledge that I read it.

    Thank you for your Gaelic word-a-day! I am still a rank beginner after a year-and-a-half. Not much time to study, and no classes, so your posts are good practice for me. The Can Seo episodes are hilarious! And of course, Runrig’s openeing song…De ni mi…
    I hope you have a great week off. I’m just looking forward to summer and a trip to Montana.

    • April 18, 2011 2:12 pm

      Hi, Gayle,

      I know what you mean. I’m sure I miss replies now and again at various forums and blogs. I enjoy your blog and look forward to getting back (I’m typically running 16 hours a day trying to keep up with things.) I enjoy Can Seo, and what a thrill to be able to actually understand them! Enjoy Montana! I loved driving through, and especially the times we had enough leeway to stop for the big parade celebrating Little Big Horn, and to see the battlefield. It’s beautiful country.

      ~Laura

Leave a Reply

