Skip to content

More Animals

July 19, 2016

Some new and some review from long ago:

  • calman (cahlman) pigeon
  • luch (luch) mouse
  • nathair (NAH-ad) snake
  • fiadh  (FEE-ugh) deer
  • iasg (EE-isk) fish
  • each-uisge (ech-OO-shkuh) hippopotamus (literally, water horse)

Try these with sentences learned in previous lessons:

  • Tha mi ag iarraidh… (ha me a geer-ee)  I want, or literally, I am wanting….
  • Tha mi a’ faicinn… (ha me a fie-kinn)  I see…..
  • Tha mi ag ithe.… (tha me a gee-chuh)  I eat…
  • ‘S toigh leum… (stull um…) I like..
  • Cha toigh leam… (chah toe-lum…) I don’t like…

Leave your new sentences in the comments.

Some resources for learning Scottish animals word names:

See my other blog for The Making of a Medieval Manuscript and the ongoing Giveaway of a mug featuring scenes from Scotland.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

