Skip to content

Who is Reading?

September 2, 2016

So…as I have had a long day, am taking a break in my editing, and glanced at some things on the blog tonight but know tomorrow will be a jam-packed day…I have seen over time that there are people here from Trinidad and Tobago, Russia, New Zealand, Britain, parts of Africa, countries in South America, and really, from all over the world.

Please leave a comment.  What brought you to Gaelic Word a Day?  What sparked your interest in Scotland or learning Gaelic?  Mine came, strangely enough, by way of trombone.  Blue Bells of Scotland is a piece many advanced trombonists (at least of my generation) aspired to play.  This influenced my writing, which led me to studying Gaelic to know what the people in my book really speak.

I would love to hear from those who read, which is now one to two hundred a day.

And a word or two about the world:

  • saoghal m (SOO-hul) world
  • talamh m (TAHL-uhv) earth, world
  • air an talamh, mar a nithear air nèamh on earth as it is in heaven
13 Comments leave one →
  1. HAWKINS, DR BIL permalink
    September 2, 2016 5:01 am

    P {margin-top:0;margin-bottom:0;}

    Looking for a word a day [a vocabulary review] a sentence or two like the one that has ‘talamh’ and a grammar point. So far, I like what I see

    Dr Bil

  2. Dawn permalink
    September 2, 2016 10:45 am

    Good day from the U.S! As a gr gr daughter of Scottish immigrants to Canada, I’ve always had a deep interest in those that came before me. Early on, it was in the learning of their customs, culture and their language, that told the story of who they were, and perhaps what led them here. Today, for me, the learning of their language honors them and celebrates our heritage. Thank you for what you do to share your knowledge. It is appreciated!

  3. Paula permalink
    September 2, 2016 11:07 am

    I was planning a trip to Scotland and Ireland ❤

  4. Melody permalink
    September 2, 2016 11:17 am

    I have long been fascinated by all things Scottish. Bagpipe lessons as a kid, lots of books read and somewhere discovered the lanquage, which led me to look for online lessons and luckily I came across this lovely word a day. Now if only I had someone to speak with.

  5. September 2, 2016 11:31 am

    Heidi from Connecticut, here! I think I found your blog recently while searching for online Gaelic resources. I took some classes a couple of years ago at a local school of “Celtic Arts,” and was looking for a refresher in pronunciation. I have many Scots ancestors, including some who came from the Isle of Skye to Prince Edward Island in 1803, and I know many of them spoke only Gaelic when they arrived, so I felt learning Gaelic would be a way of honoring their memory.

  6. Anthony Xavier permalink
    September 2, 2016 1:16 pm

    I love the Gaelic language, & was drawn in further by the music. artists like Kathleen MacInnes, Julie Fowlis, Cruinn, Meantime, Manran & the more traditional, like Calum Kennedy. I am doing my best to slowly pick it up “beag air bheag”. Tapadh Leibh, bho
    Eilean an Truisg!

  7. Elizabeth Henderson permalink
    September 2, 2016 2:22 pm

    I am of Scottish background on both sides and am retired. I am trying to learn as much as I can but find fluency really requires daily use with someone else speaking Gaelic. I love your site it is so well done and practical. Thank you. I am from Cape Breton, Nova Scotia.

  8. September 2, 2016 3:12 pm

    Madainn mhath, ‘s mise Antonaidh, tha mi bho Eilean an Truisg. Tha mi
    oidhirpeachadh ionnsachadh na Gàidhlig (Hopefully some of that is correct.)

  9. Lisa permalink
    September 2, 2016 3:57 pm

    Texas here! Got bit by the genealogy bug, which led me to gaelic lessons a few years later. There is not a local class anymore, which led me to you.

  10. Elaine permalink
    September 5, 2016 6:43 am

    Elaine from Inverness, Scotland – working on my family tree I discovered that only a couple of generations back my ancestors were listed in the census as speaking both Gaelic and English. Thus spurred me to start learning – it’s a slow process but thank you for your blog. Moran taing.

  11. Rob Davenport permalink
    September 6, 2016 3:04 pm

    I’ve always loved languages and being of Scottish descent on both my father’s and mother’s sides, I’ve long been interested in learning Gaidhlig. I was very excited to see your word-a-day! Rob in Ohio

  12. Catherine permalink
    September 7, 2016 7:11 pm

    Hi. My family comes from Cheshire/Derbyshire/South Yorkshire. As a child, I heard elderly men speaking in dialect, regularly using ‘thee’ and ‘thine’, ‘thou’ and other words, such as ‘beck’ now thought of as being archaic. I heard some Gaelic spoken by accident – I sat on the remote- and while fumbling to change the channels back, heard some words from my childhood and stopped to listen. I recognised a few words that, I thought, had a common origin with the language I knew as a child. I was hooked! Your site dripfeeds me with words and phrases that helps to keep my interest and I am now planning an Inverness/ Orkney trip and a Highlands/Outer Hebrides road trip next year. Thank you for the inspiration.

  13. Kelley permalink
    September 8, 2016 2:27 am

    I’m in Texas as well. I married in a Scottish heritage but what really prompted this foray into the Gaelic language was reading Outlander and watching Brave with my daughter (particularly the lullaby Eleanor sings to Merida during the rainstorm).

Leave a Reply

